Blog Tour – Stop #4 (Naimeless)

Dear readers,

We’re almost to the halfway point on my Blog Tour; I hope you’re enjoying the events as much as I am. Once again, please support the generous bloggers who have agreed to host me. They are great friends and champions of independent authors.

The fourth stop is with Naomi Leadbeater at the Naimeless blog.

In my guest post on Naomi’s site, I write about inspiration from an author’s perspective: how to find it, where it comes from, and how to make the most of it. As you can imagine for a topic like this, it’s hard to make any kind of prescriptive recommendations or to offer a simple checklist of steps. That being said, I hope that you find some measure of insight based on my suggestions. Of course, I’m always interested in your feedback and comments, so please get in touch at Naimeless or via this blog / Twitter / Facebook!

Here is a short excerpt from the guest post:

Admittedly, if I could offer a step-by-step reckoning for how to find inspiration in your writing endeavours, I’d probably already be making the rounds as a celebrated self-help author. But of course there is no hard and fast rule in this respect. Luckily, though, most of us – writers especially, but other more sane people as well 🙂 – are fairly keen observers of the world around us. This sensitivity to outside stimuli is the first step in the process. In particular, being able to actively consider, challenge, and interpret your assumptions of these stimuli is the key.

My own experience may be somewhat informative here. During the studies for my Master’s degree in the early 2000s, I had the opportunity to visit Budapest, Hungary, where I spent some time as an exchange student. I had only a passing familiarity with the country prior to my trip, so I arrived in the Hungarian capital as the proverbial blank slate. While there, I found myself wondering how a nation that had for so long been under the yoke of Communist rule could have, in a span of just over ten years, essentially scrubbed from public view almost every trace of Soviet presence. Without knowing it at the time, this puzzling anomaly became the seed of inspiration for The Consistency of Parchment. As I began researching the history of Eastern Europe under Communism, a narrative slowly began to take shape. But it was this first stimulus – and the reconsideration of my previous ideas related to this situation – that served to crystallize my early notions of the book.

Leave a Reply

